SACRE MEMBERSHIP: 2023-2024

'Member' means a member of Rutland SACRE, usually appointed, but includes a substitute or co-opted member.

A meeting will only be quorate if all four of the following groups are represented:

Group A - Representatives of other Churches and faiths

Group B - Church of England Representatives

Group C - Teacher Associations

Group D - Local Education Authority Representatives

A Member can only represent one group. Rutland SACRE has the power to co-opt members as agreed by the majority of its members. All members are entitled to speak and vote on any issue, but substitute or co-opted members may speak but not vote at any meeting. Rutland SACRE will always seek to reach decisions on a consensus basis but in the event of a vote being taken only one vote is allowed from each of the FOUR groups. In the event of a tied vote on any issue the Chair may exercise the casting vote.

In addition, there is a Local Authority SACRE Officer or Adviser (Amanda Fitton) and a Local Authority SACRE Clerk (Jane Narey). Both are appointed by the Local Authority but neither have voting rights.

Membership

Group A	No. of representatives permitted	Current Member
Baptist Church	1	Madeleine Gilbert
Humanist UK	1	
Jewish Community	1	Shelia Gewolb
Methodist Church	1	
Muslim Community	1	
Quakers	1	
Roman Catholic Church	1	Bjoern Finke
Sikh Community	1	Gurdev Singh
United Reform Church	1	
Group B		
Rutland Deanery	2	James McWhirter (Revd)
Peterborough Diocese	2	Daniel Alfieri / Mary-Anne Marples
Group C		
Teacher Representatives	5	Megan Davis / Cara Topping
Education Support Staff	1	
Group D		
Local Authority County	2	Councillor Christine Wise
Councillors		Councillor Steve McRobb